Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Under the Open Meetings Act, anyone can attend the meetings, including members of the press.
Show All Answers
The Assessor turns the assessment roll over to the Board of Review, who can increase or decrease any improper assessment. The Board has no control over millage rates or property taxes.
Charters vary regarding membership requirements. Some communities use elected officials. Generally, the membership is made of resident taxpayers of the community.
Generally, the Board of Review meets in March. It is best to check the schedule of your community.
Any person may file an appeal regarding the assessment of any property within the Board's jurisdiction. By law, non-resident property owners can appeal by letter. Some local governments have made provisions for residents to appeal by letter also. Please contact your assessing office for the rules in your community.
Most communities will allow an agent, someone you have designated, to appeal in your behalf. Most often the property owner appeals in person. Many communities schedule appointments. If you plan to appear, please call to determine the schedule and requirements.
The Board of Review has the authority to act on appeals of:
The taxpayer must give evidence to show that the assessment is incorrect. The Board of Review needs good reasons to alter an assessment. It is imperative to be able to answer the questions What do you think your property is worth? and What are you basing that opinion on?
What do you think your property is worth?
What are you basing that opinion on?
All assessments are to be based on the sales of similar properties. You may hire a professional appraiser, or you can look at sales in your neighborhood and compare them to your home. Most assessors' offices will give you sales information. But remember this is your appeal, and the paperwork should be done by you.
For example, let's say that in your neighborhood a home sold for $80,000 and is identical to yours except that is has no garage and you have a two-car garage. You have determined that your garage is worth $4,000 to $6,000. Another home sold for $96,000. It has the same house and garage as yours but has an extra lot. Land sales show that the value of this extra lot is $8,000.
These two sales indicate a proper assessment of your property should be between $42,000 and $44,000.
Other recent sales in your area should be reviewed the same way. You need to be especially careful if the sales are different from your home in size, age or quality. This will require some time and thought, but the hardest part will be to remain objective.
The Board of Review will probably not give the decision at the time of the hearing but will mail the decision as soon as possible. Along with this notification, will be information about the Michigan Tax Tribunal.
Only those assessments reviewed by the Board can be appealed to the Michigan Tax Tribunal. Their appeal deadline is July 31.
The Board of Review functions in many ways like a court although its procedures are less formal. Like a court, it has the authority to decide on certain issues based on evidence. In deciding whether to appeal your assessment to the Board of Review, you should first answer these two questions:
If you are protesting on the value of your property, you should be prepared to justify why your property would not sell for twice the assessed value. If you are appealing based on hardship, documentation will be necessary. You should contact your local unit for details.
The better information you bring to the Board, the better they will be able to make a fair determination. Keep the following points in mind:
Remember, the Board of Review is for you, and can be effective.